The Official Book Launch Day for The Elixir of Freedom

FB Photo -5Star Review.cdrToday is the DAY!
I am hoping to boost my novel, The Elixir of Freedom,  to Amazon bestseller status today.  To do that, it needs to reach the Top 100 books sold in its category during this week. With the help of friends, family, and social media, that goal is achievable. 

Reaching this level is important, not so much for sales, but because “best seller” status will attract more readers to all my books down the road.  Also,  I believe the message of the book — using intuition, tuning in to nature, and finding the light as solutions to problems — needs to reach more people.  It’s  a timely message in this difficult political climate in our country today. We need a vision of a better tomorrow!

Here’s how you can help:

1) Tell other people about the book, and urge them to purchase it today, either on Kindle or in print. You can even forward them this post.

2) If you have already purchased the book, then consider getting one for a friend or family member.

3) If you haven’t yet purchased the book (either print or Kindle), then consider doing so now. It’s a great story that has gotten a lot of good reviews!

I am sincerely grateful for any help you can give. Thank you! Just click the link to Amazon!

Here’s what readers have said:

“Take this adventure with [the characters] and you will find the light in your own heart.”

“A riveting tale of adventure to discover your passion and purpose.”

“I felt my own heart open with hope.” 

“In the tradition of CS Lewis and JRR Tolkien…

“I picked up this book, read the first page, and was hooked.” 

“I loved the plot, how it sprung up and became a giant, living being.” 

“A captivating tale of intrigue, love, and danger…”

“The story draws you in from the first page and takes you on a magical journey.” 

“… full of the stuff legends are made of…”

“This book is a classic literary effort…”
Check out the The Elixir of Freedom!

Book Launch & New Book for Parents

Ravi-Looking for Heart of Sun

Greetings:
Thanks for subscribing to my Light Finder Newsletter.  This time, I just want to let you know that we are having a Grand Book Launch this week for  my novel, The Elixir of Freedom. We hope to make it an Amazon Bestseller with some concentrated attention this week through all social media. The goal is to get the message of the book out to more people, and I need your help to do that.

If you already have purchased the book, then consider getting one for a friend or family member. If you haven’t yet purchased the book (either print or Kindle), then consider doing so now. Your action this week will boost the numbers and help reach more people with this story of intuition, tuning in to nature, and light defeating darkness. The official launch day is Wed., August 17, and I will send out a notice on that day!  But any sales this week will help! Thank you!

Recommended Book:  Dharma Parenting

From time to time, I will recommend a book that I think you might like. Just released on August 2 is Dharma Parenting by Keith Wallace and Fred Travis. It offers a way to “understand your child’s brilliant brain for greater happiness, health, success, and fulfillment.”  

Readers can take a short quiz to determine their brain/body type — and their children’s.

Then, the book gives fascinating insights into how to guide  your child during tantrums, play days, doing chores, bedtime routines, eating, and more.  Very practical and insightful. If you have kids, this book will open your eyes to a new way of looking at their energy and guiding it. Check it out.

 

Meeting Dr. Nader and Book Signings

Tony NaderEver since I wrote The Elixir of Freedom, I wanted to give a copy of the book to the scientist who inspired the plot.

That scientist is Dr. Tony Nader, M.D., Ph.D., M.A.R.R., who is the global leader of the TM organization, and the author of two breakthrough books.  The first is Human Physiology, Expression of the Veda and Vedic Literature (1994-2014) and the second is Ramayan in the Human Physiology (2012).  These books demonstrate the one-to-one correspondence between our human bodies and the ancient Vedic literature. The Veda, in a sense, is a blueprint for our physiology. This has huge implications for our health and evolution.

In the second book, he described the ancient story of Ram who was able to defeat the 10-headed Ravan. The key was receiving the secret to the Heart of the Sun from the Rishi Agastya. Those of you who have read my book know how the characters go on a quest for this secret, and they do meet a shepherd named Agastya who directs them to the Heart of the Sun.

But the key is that Dr. Nader describes the Heart of the Sun as relating in structure and function to the thalamus in the brain. When enlivened, this “Heart of the Sun”, he says, functions like a “lamp at the door”.  It gives a view of life from outside looking in and from inside looking out. He relates this to the experience of Nyaya in the Vedic Literature.  It was this experience that led to the “elixir of freedom” that the characters gained.

So, recently, I heard that Dr. Nader was speaking in Vancouver, British Columbia, on Saturday, May 7. My heart leaped with the thought that I might be able to give him a copy of the book there. Acting on intuition, I booked the flight and went to his talk. As nature would have it, an opportunity came up for me to meet him for a moment and give him the book. He seemed very pleased that I based the plot on his research.   It was just a moment, but I was glad I was able to give him the book. I hope he enjoys the story.

[And of course, future books will revolve around other aspects of the Ramayan — hint, hint, Book 2, The Conch of Bliss, is underway!]

Book Signings

If you are in the Fresno area, you are invited to a Saturday, June 4 Book Signing at 1 pm.  I will also be giving a new talk on The Purpose of Stories.
Location: The Center Bridging Body, Mind, and Spirit at 1175 W. Shaw Ave. (1st parking lot on the left south on Thorne Ave.  from Shaw).

If you are in the San Francisco Bay Area, you are invited to a Thursday, June 16 talk and book signing at 7:30 pm. I will also be giving a talk on The Seven Myths of Art and the Real Meaning of Creativity.   Location:  Berkeley TM Center, 950 Gilman Ave., Berkeley (near Whole Foods).

New Video Book Trailer

VideoFirstFrameGreenVideo book trailers are a new way to promote a book.   For years, we’ve seen movie trailers in the theaters and online.  Well, since so many books are made into movies, people soon got the idea that books could be promoted the same way.  You may have seen some of them online.  Well, I decided to plunge in and try one.

I was able to work with Voyage Media in Southern California. I gave them input on the script, actors, costumes, setting, and so on. Then they went to work.  After working for eight months with a lot of film editing and outstanding graphics, they have finished the Video Book Trailer for my new book.

It’s supposed to entice viewers to read the book. So you are the judge of that. Send me a comment and let me know what you think. Click here for the link.  Or click on the photo!

My Book Gets Reviewed in The Fresno Bee

Local Author Image-Fresno BeeI was so surprised on Easter Sunday morning as I read the newspaper and turned to the entertainment section. Lo and behold, I saw a picture of my book and a great review by Rick Bentley, the veteran reviewer for The Fresno Bee.  Here is a photo of the newspaper write-up, and I’ll post the text below to make it easier to read.

Local Author offers vision of a better tomorrow

Fresno’s M.R. Neer has published “The Elixir of Freedom” (Veda Publishing, $11.95) the first in the “Light Finder Legends” series.

Neer says the book falls into the visionary fiction genre and is targeted to teens and adults who are interested in personal growth. The work is fiction, but the author suggests that the vision of a better tomorrow can become a fact.

“The Elixir of Freedom” follows Ravi and Verda on a quest to find the Heart of the Sun, a legendary way to defeat all enemies. Ravi is looking to rescue his twin brother who has been forced to work in the coal mines. The solution comes in the form of an elixir made of sap and sunlight.

Neer, who is a former English teacher and magazine publisher, wrote the book because he believes people remember deep stories more than speeches. The story is a reflection of those who are looking for answers to anything from bad habits to doubts.

The author says the story is a real experience that’s described in all cultures and traditions but is lost in our modern habit of lurching from one problem to another.

The book is available in paperback and ebook at Amazon.com and other online sites.

New novel published by M.R. Neer

 My first novel, The Elixir of Freedom, is now available on Amazon.  Here’s my press release, announcing its publication.  You can see I wanted to connect it to current events, even if it’s fiction.Neer with Elixir-crop

I hope you’ll get a copy of the book, and let me know what you think about it. What parts do you like the best? Which character do you like the best?

New novel shows how to solve problems
by bringing more light
 

     FRESNO, CA: February 7, 2016.   Election-year political speeches run the gamut of possible solutions to problems – more money, more police, better education, better health, and so on. In the midst of this torrent of promises and prescriptions, a new novel suggests there is another way. The Elixir of Freedom by M. R. Neer points to more light as the ultimate solution to the dark clouds of problems that threaten us.

Sure, it’s fiction, but Neer says it’s Visionary Fiction – a new genre that uses story to paint a vision of a better future.  He says he wrote it this way because people remember deeply-felt stories more than stirring speeches. In fact, the journey of the novel’s heroes mirrors our own quest to find real solutions to doubt, fear, bad habits, and even the pressure of time, which mushroom into our many societal problems.  The Elixir of Freedom depicts a powerful experience of light that transforms the characters and their world.  Neer says it’s a real experience described in all cultures and traditions but is lost in our modern lurching from one problem to another.

The story follows Ravi and Verda, both 21, who embark on a quest to find the legendary Heart of the Sun, which is described in the old legends as a way to defeat all enemies. Ravi wants to rescue his twin brother Vik who was captured by the Mine Master and forced to labor in the coal mines, which are also polluting Ravi’s town. After a series of trials by earth, water, and mist, Ravi and Verda discover an elixir, made of sap and sunlight, which holds the key to freedom.

Written in an easy-to-read style that will appeal to kids and adults, this is the first novel in a series called The Light Finder Legends.  Neer says a Light Finder is an ordinary person who takes extraordinary action until they find the light – whether the light of knowledge, the light of a just society, or the light of enlightenment.

Neer is a former English teacher, curriculum writer, and magazine publisher as well as a long-time teacher of the Transcendental Meditation technique. He has won awards for journalism, newsletter writing, and teaching. The book is available in paperback and e-book from popular online booksellers.